There are many reasons why you may decide to delete your Instagram profile: you may be tired of using it or you may no longer care, or maybe you have realized that excessive use is negatively affecting your work / study and you have decided to take of the measures. Whatever the motivation for doing so, with this guide you will find out how to delete instagram account. Let's see what are the steps to follow to carry out the procedure for deleting the profile.
How to delete Instagram account
It is useful to back up the photos contained in your account in case you want to reuse it in the future without losing any data. To do it, uses the desktop version of Instagram by visiting this link (find out how to use Instagram on PC thanks to our dedicated guide). If necessary, log in by entering your details, don't worry it is an official version so access will be done in total safety.
At this point, press the button NEXT in the initial section "Get a copy of the content you've shared on Instagram”And then press the button Request the download and wait until the archive with your data (from photos to comments and personal data) is ready. This could take a few minutes or even days, depending on the amount of data involved.
Alternatively, you can backup your data also from the smartphone application. It will be sufficient to log into the app, press on the button with the little man to access your account section, press the key Download the data and re-enter your login credentials. Press the button once more Download the data and wait for the download of your archive to finish.
Permanently delete Instagram account
Once you have backed up your data for safety, you can proceed with deleting the account on Instagram. All you need to do to permanently delete your PC account is to visit this link and enter your login credentials if necessary.
You will be asked why you are deleting your account in the section Why are you deleting your account? and you will have to provide an answer among those available by choosing the one most compatible with your situation. Go ahead with the wizard and enter your details or your password whenever you are asked.
To complete the procedure successfully, press the red button Delete my account permanently. At this point you can safely delete the Instagram application from your smartphone.
Delete Instagram account temporarily
If you are not sufficiently convinced to permanently delete your Instagram account you can always perform temporary deletion of the account and recover it in the future. The procedure described below will not permanently delete your account, but will allow you to deactivate it and decide to activate it again at another time.
To perform the procedure connected to this link to access the dedicated section of the web version of Instagram and log in by entering your details (username and password). At this point tap on the icon in the shape of a little man to access your account settings and press the button Edit the profile. In this section you will find the entry Temporarily disable my account at the bottom of the screen, select it and continue.
You will be asked why you are deleting your account in the section Why are you deactivating your account? and you will have to provide an answer among those available by choosing the one most compatible with your situation. To complete the procedure successfully, press the red button Temporarily disable my account.
The procedure can be performed in the same way from the smartphone application.
Later, in order to cancel the procedure and then reactivate your account all you have to do is access the application (from your smartphone or using the web version) by entering your usual access data and confirming your willingness to reopen the profile.
Make the Instagram profile private
If you are not interested in permanently deleting your profile or temporarily suspending it, but you simply want prevent it from being visible to everyone you can make it private and make it visible only to your old followers or to the people to whom you will provide your link.
make your profile private you simply need to access the application by entering your data (you can also perform the procedure from a PC using Instagram Web), press on the icon with the little man to access the section dedicated to editing your account and then press the menu icon (the three horizontal lines). At this point, press on the item Settings, move to the option Private account and set on ON the lever to activate it.
In this guide we have seen how to permanently delete Instagram account or disable it temporarily, in both cases it is possible to recover the account using the backup created previously. Let us know with a comment if this guide was useful to you!