How to delete or restore files in Google Drive

Who I am
Philippe Gloaguen
@philippegloaguen
SOURCES CONSULTED:

support.microsoft.com

Author and references

Have you accidentally deleted some files in your Google Drive account? Here's how to get them back easily.

It becomes imperative to clear existing data in Google Drive to free up storage space. Google Drive allows you to delete files temporarily or permanently and restore them if you accidentally delete them while emptying space.

This article describes how to delete files in Google Drive and restore them if necessary.

Come eliminare i file in Google Drive

To delete files in Google Drive, do the following:



  • Log into your Google Drive account.
  • Select the file you want to delete.
  • Right-click on the selected file and select Remove.

By following the above steps, you will delete the file from your library which moves it to the Google Drive Trash. It stays there for a month before Google Drive permanently deletes it.

You need to manually delete files from the Recycle Bin when you want to instantly remove them permanently, instead of waiting for them to be automatically deleted after a month. Here's how to do it:

  • In the left sidebar, click on the option Basket .
  • From the Trash, select the files you want to permanently delete.
  • Right-click the file and select Delete forever.

How to restore deleted files in Google Drive

In the same way you deleted files permanently, you can also restore deleted files from Google Drive Recycle Bin. All you have to do is do right-click on the file and select Restore .

The Bin folder is named Trash in some Google Drive accounts.

Similarly, you can bulk delete or bulk restore files in Google Drive by following the steps outlined above. The only difference is that you have to select all files in advance by holding CTRL , then clicking each one to select it.



Quickly delete or restore files in Google Drive

Google Drive allows you to delete or restore files individually or in bulk. The ability to restore deleted files is limited to 30 days from the date of deletion. Subsequently, the files are removed from the Recycle Bin. Be careful what you permanently delete from the Recycle Bin.


add a comment of How to delete or restore files in Google Drive
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.